"Jennifer Hickey and Mike Louie have done something I never thought possible. Within 4 days, we have bought a house and then...more

Are the Zodiac Signs Changing?

Have you heard? It has been all over social media this past week. It is being said that all of our zodiac signs have *gasp* changed!

Boise Real Estate Blog: Are the Zodiac Signs Changing?

So here’s the scoop. NASA put out a blog earlier this year to inform people of the “errors” in Astrology. See, at NASA, you are dealing with scientists, Astronomers. Astronomy deals with science based facts, not belief like Astrology. At NASA they do not believe that the stars can be used to predict our futures or that your birthdate has any effect on your personality. NASA is all about the facts. And the facts are that there is a lot more to the constellations and alignment of stars than Astrology accounts for.

Every year, like clockwork, the Sun passes through the same constellations at a certain time. These constellations have come to been known as the zodiacal constellations. These 12 constellations are known in one way or another around the world. What NASA has pointed out is that there are more than 12 constellations that the Sun passes through.  But, because some constellations are smaller, or have fainter stars, they have been ignored in Astrology. There are actually as many as 21 constellations. The most notable of which, and the one causing the most uproar, is called Ophiuchus.

Over 3,000 years ago when the Babylonians lived, they developed what we know now as the zodiac. Babylonians were living on a 12-month calendar system based on the phases of the moon. They were aware of the constellation Ophiuchus, but its existence posed a problem with what they were trying to achieve. Thirteen constellations of the zodiac just didn’t fit. So they made the choice to leave Ophiuchus out, completely ignoring the fact that the Sun is aligned with it for around 18 days every year. They then divided the remaining 12 signs in to 12 equal parts. Think of it like cutting a pizza into 12 equal slices, each remaining constellation in the zodiac got a slice to itself. So, no NASA did not recently add in Ophiuchus or change the zodiac in any way. It has always been there, just ignored by Astrologers.

Also, the constellations don’t stay neatly tucked into their slice. See, the Earth’s axis doesn’t point the same direction now as it did when the Babylonians’ created their system. So the dates that the Sun passes through the constellations have changed since Babylonian times. If you were born in March in ancient times you fell neatly into Aries, however, thanks to the shift in the Earth’s axis, you would now fall into Pisces.

If we were to add Ophiuchus back into the zodiac, here is what the new signs would look like:

  • Capricorn: 20 to Feb. 16
  • Aquarius: 16 to March 11
  • Pisces: March 11 to April 18
  • Aries: April 18 to May 13
  • Taurus: May 13 to June 21
  • Gemini: June 21 to July 20
  • Cancer: July 20 to Aug. 10
  • Leo: 10 to Sept. 16
  • Virgo: 16 to Oct. 30
  • Libra: 30 to Nov. 23
  • Scorpio: 23 to Nov. 29
  • Ophiuchus: 29 to Dec. 17
  • Sagittarius: 17 to Jan. 20

The way I choose to see it, though, is that 3,000 years ago the Babylonian Astrologers chose to ignore Ophiuchus, so why should today’s Astrologers do any differently? Let’s just stick to the zodiac as we know it. I mean I am so clearly a Libra, I refuse to let that change.  Let NASA keep their science, and we will keep our zodiac.